Greetings from our President

Greetings Sorors and Friends,

Welcome to the official website of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, Detroit Alumnae Chapter, known as the Detroit Deltas. I am honored and humbled to serve as the 42nd president of more than 750 dynamic and devasting, hard working and committed chapter members. In the spirit of our 22 illustrious Founders, we are committed to Redefining our purpose, and Expanding our vision, so that we may Continue our legacy.”

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a private, non-profit organization founded on January 13, 1913 by 22 college women on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. and is committed to public service with a primary focus on the Black community and to the constructive development of its more than 200,000 members.

Since being chartered in 1939, and in alignment with National Five Point Programmatic Thrust, Detroit Alumnae Chapter’s activities and events focus on:

  • Economic Development
  • Educational Development
  • International Awareness and Involvement
  • Physical and Mental Health
  • Political Awareness and Involvement

The Detroit Alumnae Chapter has built a legacy of dedicated service within our designated service area which includes Detroit, Highland Park, Harper Woods, Hamtramck and the Grosse Pointes, by promoting academic excellence and scholarship; encouraging social action and political involvement; and providing programs and services to meet community concerns.

We work in collaboration with partners and in the spirit of sisterhood to provide the residents of our designated service area with innovative public service programs. We believe in the power of collaboration and welcome opportunities to partner with organizations that align with our purpose. If you are interested in working with us on a program, send an email to president@detroitdeltas.org so that we can discuss the possibilities.

Thank you for visiting our website. We hope that you will return frequently to find out about our upcoming events.

Yours in service,

Larmender A. Davis
Chapter President
Detroit Alumnae Chapter
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Our Chapter History


The Detroit Alumnae Chapter was chartered on May 13, 1939 as Alpha Pi Sigma Chapter and was renamed Detroit Alumnae Chapter in 1958. Detroit Alumnae, which celebrated its 80th anniversary in 2019, is one of the largest chapters in the Sorority with membership averaging more than 800 Detroit Deltas annually. Chapter members have risen to serve on the regional and national levels of the Sorority. From 1971-1975, 14th DAC President Lillian Pierce Benbow served the Sorority as the 15th National President. Most recently, 41st DAC President Lois E. Bingham was selected as the executive director of the sisterhood.

Since its chartering, Detroit Deltas have instituted programs and projects that have significantly benefited the residents of the city. These have included innovative efforts like the Delta Home for Girls, which for more than 40 years housed young girls who had been removed from their homes by the courts and Detroit Delta Preparatory Academy for Social Justice, a college-preparatory high school. Delta Prep was the nation’s first school created by a National Pan-Hellenic Council organization. An ongoing project is Delta Manor, a senior citizens apartment building that has served residents since 1989.

Detroit Alumnae Chapter has been honored by the community and the Sorority. Beginning in 2013, Delta’s centennial year, the Chapter was honored to have service projects and artifacts of its productive programming displayed in a full gallery exhibit at the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History. DAC’s service was recognized by the Michigan Chronicle which named Detroit Deltas their Newsmaker of the Year. Over the years Detroit Deltas have won numerous awards at the state, regional and national levels of the Sorority, including Midwest Region Large Alumnae Chapter of the Year Award in 2015 and 2017; Delta Dear of the Year, International Awareness and Involvement, as well as Economic Development Awards in 2018. The Chapter also placed as a finalist in these categories in 2019: Educational Development, Political Awareness and Involvement, Emergency Response Team, and Chapter of the Year..

Meet our Elected Officers


Member NameCommitteeEmail
Yolanda DayArts and Letters Chairartsandletters@detroitdeltas.org
Felecia BakerBudget and Finance Committee Chairfinance@detroitdeltas.org
Nina ScottChoir Chairchoir@detroitdeltas.org
VeronCia DaffinDr. Betty Shabazz Academy Chairshabazzacademy@detroitdeltas.org
Janeal GarryCommunity Outreach Chairoutreach@detroitdeltas.org
Veronica LindseyDelta Dears Chairdeltadears@detroitdeltas.org
Janella RobinsonDelta GEMS ChairDeltaGEMS@detroitdeltas.org
Jaye SandersEconomic Development Chairecondev@detroitdeltas.org
Shelley EsterEMBODI Chairembodi@detroitdeltas.org
Deborah McCrearyEmergency Response Team Chairert@detroitdeltas.org
Brandy McMillionEvent Coordinating Chairevents@detroitdeltas.org
LaCharmine JeffersonHeritage and Archives Chairarchives@detroitdeltas.org
Clarice Ogilvie PoseyHospitality Chairhospitality@detroitdeltas.org
Robyn JohnsonHousing and Properties Chair Chairfacilities@detroitdeltas.org
Denise Thames JacksonInternal Audit Cmt, Chair Chairauditor@detroitdeltas.org
LyShay McGowanInternational Awareness and Involvement Chairiai@detroitdeltas.org
Stephanie L. HobsonMembership Services Chairsecond.vice.president@detroitdeltas.org
Alicia NailsNewsletter Chairpublicrelations@detroitdeltas.org
Katrenia CampProgram Planning & Development Chairppd@detroitdeltas.org
Marcileen PruittProtocol Chairprotocol@detroitdeltas.org
Alicia NailsPublic Relations Leadpublicrelations@detroitdeltas.org
Mary MeeksRisk Management Chairriskmanagement@detroitdeltas.org
Marilyn Smith-HinesRitual and Ceremonies Chairritual@detroitdeltas.org
Jenice Mitchell FordRules of Order and Policies and Procedures Chairropp@detroitdeltas.org
Katrenia CampScholarship Chairscholarship@detroitdeltas.org
Colleen AustinSister Circles Chairsistercircles@detroitdeltas.org
Donyale Stephen-AtaraSocial Action Chairsocialaction@detroitdeltas.org
Katrina V. YoungSpecial Services (Omega Omega) Chairspecialservices@detroitdeltas.org
Jacinta MbaTechnology Chairtechnology@detroitdeltas.org
Staci BrooksWays and Means Chair, Special Eventswaysandmeans@detroitdeltas.org

Charter Members


Loretta McKee (Briscoe)*Esther Randall (LaMarr)*Mamie Alexander*Elizabeth Cole*
Lucy B. Morris*Ruth Routt (King)*Gladys Barthwell*Irene Duncan Wise
Sue Morton*Louise Sims*Marquerite M. BleachHortense Fears*
Elizabeth Morton*Margret SmithEleanor Boykin (Jones)*Maxine Fears (Worsham)*
Wilamette Mosby*Zelma Sykes (Sparks)*Marion Carter*Bertha Lantoin*
Frances Owens*Marion TaylorEthel Childs (Baker)*Victoria McCall (Davenport)*
Ernestine PostlesHelen Thomas*Phyllis Colden*Ruby McLendon (Wills)*
Edith Watson (Bland)*

Past Presidents


Lois Bingham 2017-2019Shirletha Simms Binion 1997-1999Carrie Rogers Brown 1977-1979Helen Garvin* 1957-1959
LaNeice Jones 2015-2017Barbara J. Benford* 1995-1997LaBarbara Gragg 1975-1977Junetta Robison Watt* 1955-1957
Marcia A. Jackson 2013-2015Kay Diane Armstrong 1993-1995Ora Williams Carter* 1973-1975Margaret Piper* 1953-1955
Beverly A. Gray 2011-2013Bernice Finley Morton* 1991-1993Bernadine Newsom Denning* 1971-1973Ahnastasia Dudley* 1951-1953
Mardi L. Woods 2009-2011Rose Marie Dickens Swanson 1989-1991Virginia Munger* 1969-1971Mathilda Williams* 1949-1951
Anitta Y. Orr 2007-2009Evelyn V. Browne* 1987-1989Juanita Williams Stafford 1967-1969Frances Langford Owens* 1947-1949
Barbara J. Anderson 2005-2007Carol Sayers Puryear* 1985-1987Eleanor Boykin Jones* 1965-1967Gladys W. Barthwell* 1946-1947
Jessye Verona Franklin 2003-2005Mattie Jones Johnson 1983-1985Lillian Pierce Benbow* 1963-1965Roberta McGuire Pickett* 1944-1946
Marion E. Binion 2001-2003Velma Mobley* 1981-1983Dorothea Flounoy Jackson* 1961-1963Lucy Belle Morris* 1943-1944
Edythe Hayden Friley 1999-2001Jean Sharon Porter 1979-1981Esther LaMarr* 1959-1961Cecil Boykin McFadden* 1942-1943
Marion Carter* 1939-1942