Greetings from our President

Greeting Sorors and Friends,

Welcome to the official website of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, Detroit Alumnae Chapter, known as the Detroit Deltas. I am honored and humbled to serve as the 42nd president of more than 750 dynamic and devasting, hard working and committed chapter members. In the spirit of our 22 illustrious Founders, we are committed to Redefining our purpose, and Expanding our vision, so that we may Continue our legacy.”

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a private, non-profit organization founded on January 13, 1913 by 22 college women on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. and is committed to public service with a primary focus on the Black community and to the constructive development of its more than 200,000 members.

Since being chartered in 1939, and in alignment with National Five Point Programmatic Thrust, Detroit Alumnae Chapter’s activities and events focus on:

  • Economic Development
  • Educational Development
  • International Awareness and Involvement
  • Physical and Mental Health
  • Political Awareness and Involvement

The Detroit Alumnae Chapter has built a legacy of dedicated service within our designated service area which includes Detroit, Highland Park, Harper Woods, Hamtramck and the Grosse Pointes, by promoting academic excellence and scholarship; encouraging social action and political involvement; and providing programs and services to meet community concerns.

We work in collaboration with partners and in the spirit of sisterhood to provide the residents of our designated service area with innovative public service programs. We believe in the power of collaboration and welcome opportunities to partner with organizations that align with our purpose. If you are interested in working with us on a program, send an email to so that we can discuss the possibilities.

Thank you for visiting our website. We hope that you will return frequently to find out about our upcoming events.

Yours in service,

Larmender A. Davis
Chapter President
Detroit Alumnae Chapter
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Meet our Elected Officers

Past Presidents

Larmender Davis
Shirletha Simms Binion 1997-1999LaBarbara Gragg
Junetta Robison Watt* 1955-1957
Lois Bingham
Barbara J. Benford* 1995-1997Ora Williams Carter* 1973-1975Margaret Piper* 1953-1955
LaNeice Jones
Kay Diane Armstrong 1993-1995Bernadine Newsom Denning*
Ahnastasia Dudley* 1951-1953
Marcia A. Jackson 2013-2015Bernice Finley Morton* 1991-1993Virginia Munger*
Mathilda Williams* 1949-1951
Beverly A. Gray
Rose Marie Dickens Swanson
Juanita Williams Stafford 1967-1969Frances Langford Owens*
Mardi L. Woods
Evelyn V. Browne* 1987-1989Eleanor Boykin Jones* 1965-1967Gladys W. Barthwell* 1946-1947
Anitta Y. Orr
Carol Sayers Puryear* 1985-1987Lillian Pierce Benbow* 1963-1965Roberta McGuire Pickett*
Barbara J. Anderson 2005-2007Mattie Jones Johnson 1983-1985Dorothea Flounoy Jackson* 1961-1963Lucy Belle Morris* 1943-1944
Jessye Verona Franklin 2003-2005Velma Mobley*
Lillian Pierce Benbow* 1963-1965Cecil Boykin McFadden* 1942-1943
Marion E. Binion 2001-2003Jean Sharon Porter 1979-1981Esther LaMarr*
Marion Carter*
Edythe Hayden Friley 1999-2001Carrie Rogers Brown 1977-1979Helen Garvin*